A R M Y

(sounds like ‘arm me’? :O )

 

Finally, a post that’s not about a movie! (Sorry about that, but I watched more movies in the past month than I normally do in a year and well movie reviews make for easy blog posts so yeah.) Anyway, I normally try to post once every week but didn’t manage to do so this last week what with the start of Semester 2 (excuses, excuses). Today’s post is about my future (future-talk, yikes!)

 

So yesterday we received a seminar on being a Dental Officer in the Australian Army. (Yeah, I do dent so when/if I survive and graduate and start up a practice one day please come see me friends!!1!1!! potential discounts 😉 ) I went to it partly out of interest, and partly for the free lunch 😛

 

Now the partial interest I had in the talk was because of my time in cadets. I’ll be honest here, I didn’t join the AAC of my own volition. My mother signed me up for our school unit and, quite frankly, I was not happy about it. The guys relished in the uniform, and guys and girls alike revelled at the prospect of ‘bivs’ (bivouacs, read: camps/hikes), but to my 14-year-old self, being forced into baggy camo wear and grandma hair (a no-nonsense severe everything-out-of-your-face style, not even the trendy ‘messy bun’) every fortnight seemed nothing short of a calamity, particularly when it seemed other girls’ rolled skirts were getting shorter and jewellery showy-er. But somehow, the moment I saw the familiar DPCU outside the lecture theatre yesterday, memories came flooding back and I realised, not for the first time, how cadets has changed my life in so many ways.

 

My five years in cadets was filled with many highs and lows, too many to be addressed here, but I can say with all my heart, without a doubt, that I do not regret for a moment joining cadets – I only regret that I didn’t learn to enjoy it sooner.

 

It is because of the profound impact cadets has had in my life that I am considering something that my younger self would never have thought of in my wildest dreams – joining the army. The representatives touched on their strong point, of course: quite generous incentives, as well as what I imagine to be the main ‘con’ for most people: the possibility of life on the frontline, in the thick of active warfare.

 

Nevertheless, the sight of the token female in the young delegation brought a familiar smile to my face, and I’m even vaguely starting to imagine returning home à la Watson (hopefully minus the wound) and finding myself my very own Sherlock* (delusional, I know.) Nah, in all seriousness I know this path cannot be an easy one, full of your typified Hollywood glamour, but in spite of that, it is a somewhat appealing idea.

 

It’s all very much up in the air at the moment, and of course even at minimum the 3 years of service is still a serious commitment, but it’s starting to look like a real possibility. What do you think?

 

Love,

Liz ❤

 

*P.S. WHO’S EXCITED FOR THE NEXT SEASON OF SHERLOCK?

P.P.S. Credits to my friend Emma for the featured photo of myself + fellow CUOs

Leave a Reply

